• The NCSD principals, assistant principals, and district leaders have selected Ms. Lee Ann Jackson as Principal of the Year and Ms. Melissa Johnson as Assistant Principal of the Year. Each has also been nominated for recognition at the state level.

    Lee Ann Jackson (top right), Principal at Hilliard Elementary School, has been an educator for 36 years, 28 of which have been in the role of school principal. She is a strong instructional leader who is committed to promoting student growth and achievement. Under Ms. Jackson’s tenure, Hilliard Elementary School has ranked in the top 5% of all elementary schools in the state of Florida. Additionally, for the past three years, the school has also been recognized as a School of Excellence for its consistent high student growth and achievement. Ms. Jackson has exemplified herself as an exceptional leader and continues to make a positive impact on Nassau County’s students, teachers, leaders, and community.

    Melissa Johnson (bottom right), has been an educator for the past 13 years, currently serving as the Assistant Principal at Callahan Elementary School. She began her educational career as a 4th grade teacher at Hilliard Elementary School where she was recognized as a leader amongst her peers. As a result, she was selected as the 2012 Teacher of the Year for Hilliard Elementary School and in 2013 as Nassau County’s Teacher of the Year. Ms. Johnson is regarded as an effective school leader who strives to promote growth in others.

    We are excited to have Ms. Jackson and Ms. Johnson represent the Nassau County School District as outstanding leaders for 2020!

Dr. Kathy Burns congratulating Principal of the Year, LeeAnn Jackson
Dr. Kathy Burns congratulating Assistant Principal of the Year, Melissa Johnson