Teacher Certification

  • Pen paper

New To Certification?

  • If you do not currently hold a valid Teaching Certificate in Florida or any other state, the first step is to apply for Teacher Certification.  Applicants must hold a bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited institution.  Please visit the Florida Department of Education (link is below), select the area of certification, pay the $75 application fee (per subject area) and submit an official transcript.  The Florida Department of Education will analyze your transcript and send you an Official Statement of Status of Eligibility (SOE).  The SOE will blueprint your path to either a Temporary or Professional Florida Teaching Certificate.

    Comments (-1)

Out-of-State Certificates

  • If you currently hold a valid Out-of-State Teaching Certificate, you may apply for a Florida Teaching Certificate based upon reciprocity.  Reciprocity may be awarded based upon a valid, renewable Out-of-State Teaching Certificate.  Temporary, initial or three-year Out-of-State Teaching Certificates are not eligible for reciprocity.

    Please visit the Florida Department of Education (link is below), select the area of certification, pay the $75 application fee (per subject area) and submit an official transcript.  You will also need to submit a copy of the front and back of your Out-of-State Teaching Certificate.  The Florida Department of Education will analyze your application, certificate and transcript.  If for any reason, the Florida Department of Education cannot award a Professional Teaching Certificate based upon your application, certificate and transcript, the Official Statement of Status of Eligiblity (SOE) will blueprint your path to a Professional Florida Teaching Certificate.

    Comments (-1)

Vocational Certification

  • In accordance with Florida Statute Section 1012.32, 1012.39, 1012.55, 1012.56 and 1012.57, the Nassau County School Board is authorized to contract and/or employ teachers as non-degreed full-time and/or part time career education program instructional staff and full-time and/or part-time adult education instructional staff.

    To be eligible for appointment to a full-time or part-time instructional position in a non-degreed career education program in the Nassau County School District, the applicant must meet the applicable requirements as outlined in the district's Vocational Handbook.  Please click on the link below for more information.

    Comments (-1)

Versa Online Licensing System

  • The instructions contained within the document below provide a step-by-step overview of how to create your educator account and how to onboard yourself in the new Versa Online Licensing System.  Source: Florida Department of Education / Bureau of Educator Certification, Revised 01/03/2018.

    Comments (-1)

Renewing Your Certificate

  • The instructions contained within the document below provide a step-by-step overview of how to renew a Professional Educator Certificate in the Versa Online Licensing System.  Source: Florida Department of Education / Bureau of Educator Certification.

    Comments (-1)
  • Once you have successfully submitted your application in the Versa Online Licensing System, you need to notify the Personnel Department that you are ready to renew.  Please complete the attached Educator Certification Notice Form and send to the Personnel Department, along with your payment of $75.00.  Submitting this completed form to Personnel satisfies notification requirements.

    Comments (-1)

Addition of a Subject via District Application

  • The instructions contained within the document below provide a step-by-step overview of how to add a subject to a Professional Educator Certificate in the Versa Online Licensing System.  Source: Florida Department of Education / Bureau of Educator Certification.

    Comments (-1)

Addition of an Endorsement via District Application

  • The instructions contained within the document below provide a step-by-step overview of how to add an endorsement to a Professional Educator Certificate in the Versa Online Licensing System.  Source: Florida Department of Education / Bureau of Educator Certification.

    Comments (-1)